Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Can charging vehicles fire?

 Post subject: Can charging vehicles fire?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 12:18 am 
Offline
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:06 am
Posts: 174
Location: Germany
Since this is not covered by the Q & A, I'd like to discuss the question here:

Can vehicles which move during the charge phase (e.g. transport with assault troops) still fire their weapons, or do they lose the ability because charging models are not allowed to fire?

_________________
"We do not destroy you because of what you are, but of what you might become."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can charging vehicles fire?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 2:55 am 
Offline
Officer of the Watch
Officer of the Watch

Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 8:24 am
Posts: 423
Location: Berlin/Germany
I would say yes, since only the driver "charges". The gunners could also go into overwatch imo.

_________________
For once, his father did what Tyrion asked him. The proof was the sudden stench, as his bowels loosend in the moment of death. Well, he was in the right place for it, Tyrion thought. But the stink that filled the privy gave ample evidence, that the oft-repeated jape about his father was just another lie.
Lord Tywin Lannister did not, in the end, (&#$@!) gold.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can charging vehicles fire?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:46 am 
Offline
Officer of the Watch
Officer of the Watch
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:20 am
Posts: 475
Location: NW Italy
We also rules this way. The charging does not prevent the vehicle from firing.

_________________
*-* Dark *-*

Truth is usually just an excuse
for a lack of imagination
---Elim Garak


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can charging vehicles fire?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:27 am 
Offline
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:38 am
Posts: 161
Shadowseer wrote:
Since this is not covered by the Q & A, I'd like to discuss the question here:

Can vehicles which move during the charge phase (e.g. transport with assault troops) still fire their weapons, or do they lose the ability because charging models are not allowed to fire?


CHARGES are the very first move executed, Before vehicles move. So this case is not occuring normally : if you declare models Charging, they Immediatly disembark from their transport in order to charge, Before vehicle moves.

Vehicles can fire so as they want, because this is not related.

_________________
[Please apologize my weak English -I'm not a goddamn guy, I'm French one. And, not, this is not da same thing : / ]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can charging vehicles fire?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 8:41 am 
Offline
Officer of the Watch
Officer of the Watch

Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 8:24 am
Posts: 423
Location: Berlin/Germany
Troll, this is a FAQ ruling you might want to use or not. I know that you don't like it but I think its fine. ;)

Vehicles are deathtraps anyway, so imo there should be a use for Rhinos other than being damage sponges for more expensive vehicles.

If you allow a Chimera to move in the charge phase, let the Ogryns charge (rather than using the stupid if effective move -> autohit Ripper Gun combo) and then let the gunners fire in the shooting phase, you can still lose 350 pts. if the Chimera gets destroyed through overwatch.

Imo it is balanced and there might be a use for Razorbacks who otherwise pale compared to Predators.

_________________
For once, his father did what Tyrion asked him. The proof was the sudden stench, as his bowels loosend in the moment of death. Well, he was in the right place for it, Tyrion thought. But the stink that filled the privy gave ample evidence, that the oft-repeated jape about his father was just another lie.
Lord Tywin Lannister did not, in the end, (&#$@!) gold.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group