Login |  Register |  FAQ

My Game basics

Post subject: My Game basics
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:28 am 
Gunner
Gunner

i recently started work again on a semi text/model game i started ages ago, i sent a rough draft to Sque and after he initially tore my idea to shreds he gave me some good feedback and i did a redraft of combat, after that it has gone backwards and forwards a fair amount and i now feel that it would be beneficial for other games of like minds to read it through and offer their opinions/problems with it,
as a background it is based on the fantasy novels by R.j. Salvatore and as such is based in the forgotten realms. it is by no means finished but i would appreciate everyone's opinions
btw not sure if this link will work, sorry if it dosnt

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 7:26 pm 
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant

will has asked if i would post the work done so far:

Strength will indicate both physical attributes and the strength available to
control weapons, the higher the strength the easier it is to weild weapons. A
typical untrained human would have a strength value of 8. And a mighty warrior
king may have a strength level of up to 20.

Therefore, from the stats you can see that human guardsmen are slightly weaker
than dwarf fighters. As such the dwarfs have an easier time of hitting human
guards than the guards have. When stats are equal there is an even chance of
hitting and being hit. If both attackers have a skill level of 10 they will both require
a score of 10 or more on a roll of D20. However for every level an opponent is
higher than you( in the case of the dwarf and human fighters) the difficulty
increases by 2, carrying on the example above the human guard would need a
dice roll of 12 to hit the dwarf. However if an opponent has a lower score than
you it becomes easier to hit the other. Therefore for every two levels higher a
score is it become one roll easier(ie an attack of 12 vs 10 the attacker would