Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

White screens?

 Post subject: White screens?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:28 am 
Offline
Sergeant
Sergeant

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:15 pm
Posts: 590
Location: Louisville, KY
Is anyone else having a problem with loading threads and getting blank, white screens instead? It happens about 3/4 of the time I try to load a thread on here, and it's only started happening today. Surfing to other sites isn't a problem for me either.

FYI, I'm using Firefox, since IE has a habit of getting browser-jacked, lol.

_________________
Mafiacheese's Variety Hour


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 10:49 am 
Offline
Astro-Path
Astro-Path
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 12:02 pm
Posts: 3821
Location: Valic IV
I will keep an eye out and see if the problem persists.

Odds are if it just started happening it might be the google ads or it could be someones avatar picture.

When someone uses a picture that is way oversized, it gets shrunk down to the appropriate size, however the program has to wait for it to download completely before it can be resized, which could cause the white screen problem.

McCragge

_________________
Deadlands 3000 - A Retro style MMORPG set in a Post Apocalyptic wasteland, as close as you will get to Necromunda in a browser game.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:38 pm 
Offline
Rogue-Psyker
Rogue-Psyker
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 1580
Location: Pech, Ultima Segmentum
I don't have a copy of Firefox on this PC at the moment, but I have not seen this problem in IE 7 or Safari.

_________________
"Every man is guilty of all the good he did not do." - Voltaire
"It is to be expected that we will run out of fossil fuels before we run out of optimists, who are, along with fools and madmen, a renewable resource." - Dmitry Orlov


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:13 pm 
Offline
Sergeant
Sergeant

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:22 am
Posts: 853
Location: fighting the nids on the eastern fringe
i usually use chrome, but for some things it requires IE.

i have noticed some times in chrome it takes a couple of seconds for the text to adjust after going back and editing previously typed stuff. it seems to only happen on this forum.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:59 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 1:40 am
Posts: 1408
Location: Trapped in a hell of his own devising
I use firefox and haven't had the problem once, sorry.

_________________
Inquisitor Skirmish and Necromunda House Rules

The Underhive Necromunda Forum

The Specialist Games Forum


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:08 pm 
Offline
Sergeant
Sergeant

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:15 pm
Posts: 590
Location: Louisville, KY
I had noticed that it was mainly a problem in the Painting threads, so maybe the photos were to blame? ::shrugs:: Everything's working fine now, so it may have just been a hiccup on my end.

I can't wait to save some money up from my new job and get this PC replaced! It's going on three years old since I put it together (to run Oblivion), so I'm in need of a new one anyway...

_________________
Mafiacheese's Variety Hour


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group